top of page
  • Writer's picturefamiliadosvalles

Red Chilli Onion Flavoured Condiment Oil

This is literally a one-pot dish. Most of us always have a jar of this sitting in our fridge. I never realised how simple it is to make until I tried it. I always prefer the homemade stuff rather than all the preservatives that come with the store-bought stuff.


This is a great oil to make and keep at your dinner table. You can drizzle this over your pizzas or pasta. It would go great with a cheese board as well. It would taste fabulous with some camembert or brie. I could just eat this with some good sourdough bread as well! My kids loved it as well so you can figure out from that, that it is not massively spicy.





I love using my store-bought dried fried onions. I love the caramel flavour and sweetness it lends to a dish and I will add it to a lot of sauces and dips for that extra element of flavour. I haven't quite come across a chili oil with it, and the addition of the onions just takes it to another level altogether.


I used the fat red chilies for this one, deseeding all of them. The fat ones are usually quite mild and perfect for this sauce. For a little kick, I added in the bird's eye chili to have a hint of spice to the sauce as well. You can skip out on the bird's eye if you just prefer the sweet version.


Ingredients:

1/2 cup of oil

5 cloves of garlic finely chopped

4 big fresh red chilies finely chopped and deseeded

1 tsp of sugar

salt to taste

pepper

4 tbsps of dried fried onions

2 tbsps of apple cider or cane vinegar

1 tbsp mirin





Method:

Heat the oil. Add in the garlic and saute for a few minutes till golden brown. Add in the chilies. Add in the fried onions next. This is just a store-bought box of fried onions that is easily available in the supermarkets these days. Lower the heat, to let all the flavors infuse.


Next, add in the mirin and vinegar. Season with salt and pepper. Cook on low for a few minutes. Pour it into a glass bottle. You can store it on the countertop or dinner table. I have a whole tray of condiments at my dinner table to use when required.

4 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page